Alice's Adventure's in Wonderland at the Royal Lyceum Theatre Edinburgh, Scotland this Christmas

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

By Lewis Carroll
In a new version created and directed by Anthony Neilson
Composer Nick Powell

“Why, sometimes I've believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” 

When Alice sees a snappily dressed white rabbit holding a pocket watch, she knows today is not going to be like any other – an adventure is beginning!   Follow Alice down the rabbit hole and tumble into Wonderland - a place where everyone and everything seems to be stark raving mad and things keep getting ‘curiouser and curiouser’.

There are drinks to make you shrink smaller and cakes which make you grow taller. You’ll meet a mad March Hare, see a cat disappear, take advice from a caterpillar, and that’s just the animals! Will Alice ever be able to solve the Mad Hatter’s riddles or will it be ‘Off with her head!’ at the Queen of Hearts’ command?

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland has been the best loved of all children’s stories for over 150 years. This Christmas The Lyceum will bring Lewis Carroll’s classic to life with a magical new production in a magnificent Victorian setting.

Recommended for all ages 5 and upwards

#AliceinWonderland

Running time: 2 hours and 15 minutes, inlcuding one 20 minute interval

Part of Christmas on Stage:

Cast and Credits

CAST
in alphabetical order

Ensemble / The Mad Hatter Tam Dean Burn
Gryphon / Ensemble  David Carlyle
Duchess/ Ensemble Alan Francis
Caterpillar/ Ensemble Zoë Hunter
King/ Ensemble John Macaulay
Dormouse/ Musician / Ensemble Isobel McArthur
Alice Jess Peet
Queen of Hearts / Ensemble   Gabe Quigley
 

Understudy Tori Burgess 
Understudy David James Kirkwood

CREATIVE TEAM
Director Anthony Neilson 
Designer Francis O'Connor
Composer and Sound Design Nick Powell
Lighting Designer Tim Mitchell
Video Designer Jamie Macdonald
Casting Director Laura Donnelly
Understudy Director Becky Hope Palmer

Video

Dates and Times

26 November - 31 December 2016

EVENINGS, 7pm

  • Gold dates 
    Sat 10 Dec, Sat 17 Dec, Sun 18 Dec, Tue 20 Dec, Wed 21 Dec, Thu 22 Dec, Fri 23 Dec, Mon 26 Dec, Tue 27 Dec
  • Silver dates
    Thu 1 Dec, Fri 2 Dec, Sat 3 Dec, Wed 7 Dec, Thu 8 Dec, Fri 9 Dec, Tue 13 Dec, Wed 14 Dec, Thu 15 Dec, Fri 16 Dec, Wed 28 Dec, Thu 29 Dec, Fri 30 Dec

MATINEES, 2pm

  • Gold dates
    Sat 10 Dec, Sat 17 Dec, Sun 18 Dec, Fri 23 Dec, Sat 24 Dec, Mon 26 Dec, Tue 27 Dec
  • Silver dates 
    Sat 3 Dec, Wed 28 Dec, Thu 29 Dec, Fri 30 Dec, Sat 31 Dec

Running time: 2 hours and 15 minutes, inlcuding one 20 minute interval

Prices

Grand Circle and Stalls:
Gold dates £30, Silver dates £27

Upper Circle:
Gold dates £22, Silver dates £20

Side View Stalls / Grand Circle:
Gold dates £20, Silver dates £20,

Grand Circle Boxes
Gold dates £90 (£45)
Silver dates £80 (£40)
4 seat boxes (2 seat boxes)

Preview tickets:
£10
Preview tickets on sale from 24 October

Concessions:
From £10

Festive Four Tickets Available - four tickets which must include at least one guest under 18
£75 for Silver Dates 
£85 for Gold Dates

All prices guaranteed until 3 September 2016

Accessibility

AUDIO DESCRIBED

  • Thursday 8 December - 7pm
  • Touch Tour - 5.45pm
  • Saturday 10 December - 2pm
  • Touch Tour 12.45pm

BSL INTERPRETED

  • Wednesday 14 December - 7pm

CAPTIONED

  • Saturday 3 December - 2pm

Read The Lyceum's Access Statement: click here.

Press Coverage

★★★★★
'the production is a feast for all of the senses as script, characterisation, music and design come together with the acting of a superb ensemble.'

The Telegraph

★★★★★
'A treat. What better way to celebrate the festive season
'
The Skinny

★★★★★
‘Younger audiences will love the novelty and the mayhem, older ones will marvel at the ingenuity and the execution, but all will go home far richer for the experience’

TV Bomb

★★★★1/2
‘Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is nothing short of a visual triumph with a true heart of madness’

The Reviews Hub

★★★★
'Much fun to be had'

The Herald 

★★★★
'Neilson’s production crackles with offbeat energy and the perfectly attuned ensemble forges a connection with the audience'

The Times

★★★★
‘Hallucinatory’

The Stage

★★★★
‘a gorgeous Victorian box of delights’

The Scotsman

★★★★
'Jolly good fun!'

What's On Stage

★★★★
‘Hugely colourful, funny, and fascinating’

All Edinburgh Theatre 

★★★★
‘this particular and generous invitation to Wonderland should be accepted at once’

Edinburgh 49

★★★★
‘Audience members young and old will roar with laughter throughout’

Plays to See

★★★★
‘utterly magical’

Edinburgh Guide

★★★★
‘Alice in Wonderland is a true jewel... what the Lyceum have done with it is wondrous’

The Mumble

★★★★
‘Delightfully dark, witty, and above all visually stunning, The Lyceum’s ‘Alice in Wonderland’ is a classic take on the whimsical children’s story that will delight both young and old.’

Young Perspective

‘an utterly magical night out’
Exeunt Magazine

Gallery

Rehearsal photos:

Production photos: