The Outrun

Credit: Laurence Winram

Part of the Edinburgh International Festival 2024.


Amy Liptrot's bestselling memoir is brought to life in an epic and elemental world premiere.

Olivier Award-winning playwright Stef Smith joins forces with Vicky Featherstone, former Artistic Director of the National Theatre of Scotland, to reimagine Amy Liptrot's bestselling memoir. Edinburgh's producing theatre The Lyceum returns to the International Festival to present this world premiere. A young woman finds herself washed up back home on the Scottish archipelago of Orkney. She has no idea how or if she can rebuild her life after a decade of addiction.

Flashing back and forth between Orkney and London, we get a glimpse into her former urban existence and its intoxicating temptations that pushed her to the point of destruction. She must find a way to navigate the alluring wildlife and wildness of both environments.

Smith's urgent retelling speaks to the impact of isolation and loneliness and – ultimately – the resilience of people.

One of Scotland's boldest chroniclers of contemporary women's lives

The Stage on Stef Smith